Satisfy Your TV Cravings with Books

Filed under: Top Stories — Boardwalk Empire @ 10:25 am
Guest of a Guest

Guest of a Guest

Nelson Johnson’s book made Guest of a Guest’s Satisfy Your TV Cravings With These Books list yesterday.

In addition to a suggestion for Boardwalk Empire fans, they include suggested reading for fans of Mad Men, Downton Abbey, and even Keeping Up with the Kardashians.

Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times, and Corruption of Atlantic City by Nelson Johnson is the very tome from which screenwriter Terrance Winter adapted the script for Boardwalk Empire. The book tells the story of Atlantic City political boss and racketeer Nucky Johnson, who met the demand of tourists visiting Atlantic City by allowing them to imbibe, gamble, and hire prostitutes, despite all three being illegal in New Jersey at the time.

Nucky Johnson may have run Atlantic City during the early 1900’s, but Skinny D’Amato, owner of Atlantic City’s 500 Club, played host to the real-life political corruption and illegal activities that created the Atlantic City we know from Boardwalk Empire. In Chance of a Lifetime: Nucky Johnson, Skinny D’Amato and How Atlantic City became the Naughty Queen of Resorts, author Grace D’Amato tells the true tale about her brother-in-law Skinny and his club, where the much of the Atlantic City we see on TV was born.

via Satisfy Your TV Cravings With These Books.